Skip to content
Best Way Reviews

Best rain covers for a backpack

The strongest evidence here comes from backpack reviews that mention an integrated or included rain cover. Those are the closest tested matches available for a rain-cover-focused buying guide.

4 products ranked Updated

Best rain covers for a backpack

Our rankings are built from published testing by named outlets, not from our own lab. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, and it never changes the order.

The short answer

  1. 1 Osprey Atmos AG LT 65 Top pick
  2. 2 Osprey Aether 65 Best for heavy loads
  3. 3 Lowepro PhotoSport BP 24L AW III Best for camera carry
  4. 4 REI Traverse 60 Budget pick

Prices checked 3 November 2026. They move constantly — the retailer's own page is the authority.

1
View on Amazon

Around $320

1 Top pick

Osprey Atmos AG LT 65

OutdoorGearLab names this its best overall backpacking backpack and says it includes an integrated rain cover. It also points to comfort, features, and a strong back panel, frame, and hip belt.

Pros

  • Integrated rain cover
  • Very comfortable
  • Tons of features

Cons

  • Drawback not given in the provided details
Where these findings come from
  • OutdoorGearLab: Best Overall Backpacking Backpack; OutdoorGearLab purchased and tested the pack; it notes an integrated rain cover; strengths include comfort, many features, and a strong back panel, frame, and hip belt.
  • OutdoorGearLab: drawback is not stated in the provided details, so this pick is included only for its tested rain-cover note and overall recommendation.
2
View on Amazon

Around $370

2 Best for heavy loads

Osprey Aether 65

OutdoorGearLab singles this out for carrying heavy loads and says the rain cover is stored in the top lid. That is a practical detail if you want the cover close at hand.

Pros

  • Rain cover stored in the top lid
  • Comfortable for heavy loads

Cons

  • Drawback not given in the provided details
Where these findings come from
  • OutdoorGearLab: Most Comfortable Carrying Heavy Loads; OutdoorGearLab purchased and tested the pack; it says the rain cover is stored in the top lid.
  • OutdoorGearLab: drawback is not stated in the provided details, so the rain-cover note is the main usable fact here.
3 Best for camera carry

Lowepro PhotoSport BP 24L AW III

TechRadar's field review says the pack has an integrated rain cover and that it was used in real-world conditions with weather exposure. The tradeoff is limited room for extra lenses and an insert that could be more accessible.

Pros

  • Integrated rain cover
  • Real-world weather exposure checked

Cons

  • Limited room for extra lenses
  • Insert could be more accessible
Where these findings come from
  • TechRadar: TechRadar's hands-on field review says it used the pack in real-world conditions, including weather exposure, and checked the rain cover.
  • TechRadar: pros include integrated rain cover; cons include limited room for extra lenses and an insert that could be more accessible.
4 Budget pick

REI Traverse 60

OutdoorGearLab mentions this pack in its rain-covers section as one of the tested models that includes a rain cover. That is useful, but there is less product detail here than with the other picks.

Pros

  • Includes a rain cover
  • Was among the tested packs

Cons

  • No award given in the provided details
  • Not enough product detail here
Where these findings come from
  • OutdoorGearLab: OutdoorGearLab's rain-covers section says this tested pack includes a rain cover.
  • OutdoorGearLab: no award or fuller product detail is available in the provided material, so it is a weaker recommendation than the ranked picks above.
Alibaba.com: Bulk deals on millions of products. Explore dealsSponsored

What actually matters

For this topic, the main question is not whether a backpack can survive a light shower. It is whether the cover is actually part of the bag, easy to reach, and mentioned by an outlet that tested the pack in real use.

Look for three things in particular:

  • An integrated or stored rain cover. OutdoorGearLab notes when the cover is integrated or stored in the top lid. That is better than a vague mention that a bag is "weather resistant."
  • A separate water-resistant fabric treatment is not the same thing. Good Housekeeping notes a water-resistant coating on the Cotopaxi pack, but it also mentions a rain cover. Those are different features.
  • How the outlet tested the bag. If the review only mentions a cover in passing, there is less to go on. TechRadar's review is stronger here because it says it used the pack in weather and checked the cover.

The other thing to watch is tradeoff. A rain cover often shows up on packs with a different mission: backpacking, travel, or camera carry. That means comfort, organization, and access still matter. A cover is useful, but it does not make up for a bad fit or poor layout.

Where this comes from

  • OutdoorGearLab purchased and tested backpacking packs, then said some were field-tested across multiple regions. Its page includes a dedicated rain-covers section and names packs with integrated or stored rain covers.
  • TechRadar published a hands-on field review of the Lowepro pack, describing real-world use, weather exposure, and checking the rain cover.

What we are leaving out

Rain cover notes alone do not make a pack the right choice. Fit, access, and load carry still matter.

FAQ

Is an integrated rain cover better than a loose one? Yes, if you want it on hand fast. OutdoorGearLab specifically notes integrated covers and one stored in the top lid.

Is water-resistant fabric enough? Not according to Good Housekeeping's framing. It notes a water-resistant coating on the Cotopaxi pack, but also calls out that the pack has a rain cover.

Which pick had the clearest real-world weather testing? TechRadar's Lowepro review. It says the pack was used in real-world conditions with weather exposure and that the rain cover was checked.

Where this comes from

We did not test these. These people did.

Every score on this page rests on the testing below. The ranking is ours; the measurements are not. How we research.

  • OutdoorGearLab — OutdoorGearLab purchased and tested backpacking packs; the page says some were field-tested across multiple regions and includes a rain covers section. Updated May 13, 2026.
  • TechRadar — TechRadar's hands-on field review describes real-world use, weather exposure, and checking the rain cover. Published October 5, 2022.

Questions people ask

Is an integrated rain cover better than a loose one?
Yes, if you want it on hand fast. OutdoorGearLab specifically notes integrated covers and one stored in the top lid.
Is water-resistant fabric enough?
Not according to Good Housekeeping's framing. It notes a water-resistant coating on the Cotopaxi pack, but also calls out that the pack has a rain cover.
Which pick had the clearest real-world weather testing?
TechRadar's Lowepro review. It says the pack was used in real-world conditions with weather exposure and that the rain cover was checked.
Best dehumidifiers for a damp basement
Home

Best dehumidifiers for a damp basement

A damp basement needs real moisture removal, not just a big box with a tank. Tom’s Guide and Good Housekeeping both point to 50-pint units for serious spaces, while smaller models make sense only if the basement is small or lightly humid. None of these are quiet miracles. Each has tradeoffs, usually noise, size, or heat.

4 picks Updated

Best air purifiers for large bedrooms
Home

Best air purifiers for large bedrooms

Large bedrooms need an air purifier that can move enough air without sounding like a fan. The outlets here also point to a simple tradeoff: stronger cleaning usually means more floor space, more noise, or both.

4 picks Updated

Best checked luggage for frequent international flights
Luggage

Best checked luggage for frequent international flights

Frequent international flying means paying attention to airline size rules first. The strongest picks here are the checked bags with clear dimensions and clearly stated tradeoffs; one model lands safely within the common 62-inch limit.

3 picks Updated